Ironman is pleased to announce the Ironman Hall of Fame Induction Class of 2018: athletes Erin Baker and Scott Molina and Ironman contributors Ken Baggs and Rocky Campbell.

The induction ceremony will be held on October 10 during race week at the 2018 Ironman World Championship, in Kailua-Kona, Hawai'i.

“As we celebrate our 40th Anniversary of Ironman, it is fitting that we induct these four deserving individuals who have had a major impact on and contribution to Ironman,” said Andrew Messick, Chief Executive Officer of Ironman. “Erin, Scott, Ken and Rocky each in their own way have had a hand in shaping what the sport has become today and deserve to be recognized among Ironman’s elite.”

Erin Baker is a two-time Ironman World Champion having won in 1987 and 1990. Commonly known for her long-standing rivalry with 8-time Ironman World Champion and fellow Hall of Famer Paula Newby-Fraser, Baker was a force of her own, winning 104 of the 121 races she entered. In her career, Baker was impressive at every level, earning titles at the ITU World Championship, ITU Duathlon World Championship and Ironman World Championship. She has been a champion of the sport and continues to be known as one of the best female triathletes of all time. Baker is also a 1995 inductee to the New Zealand Sports Hall of Fame.

“What a wonderful honour to receive and I'm absolutely thrilled to be receiving this with my dear man [Scott Molina],” said Erin Baker. “Although we live at the end of the planet, Ironman still keeps us in touch with our triathlon friends all over the globe. So happy to be part of this wonderful community as it is still such a big part of our lives."

Scott Molina was a member of the famed “Big Four” consisting of fellow athletes Dave Scott, Mark Allen and Scott Tinley, who all pioneered the sport of triathlon and dominated the racing through the 1980s and into the 1990s. Molina won the 1988 Ironman World Championship and became known as "The Terminator" in his racing days. One of the most prolific triathletes, Molina competed in more than 250 major races and earned over 100 professional victories. He won the inaugural Ironman New Zealand in 1985, which was the first Ironman event to be held outside of Hawai'i. Molina remains a pillar in the sport of triathlon with his continued involvement through triathlon coaching and training camps.

"Wow! Such a wonderful group of people to be associated with,” said Scott Molina. “Very, very honoured and proud to be associated with so many legends in our sport, many of whom I've known and followed for so many years."

Ken Baggs was instrumental in the creation of Ironman in Australia, working in the region for 30 years (1984-2014). He was one of the original members of the organizing committee for the inaugural Ironman Australia race in 1985, becoming the race director in 1987. He also founded Ironman Western Australia and served as the race director for both races until 2012. Baggs is considered an integral part of the early team responsible for establishing rules, safety and operation procedures globally as Ironman was growing from a single race in Hawai'i to events worldwide.

Rocky Campbell can be considered one of the foundational members of the Ironman family as one of the original and longest-tenured Ironman World Championship volunteers. For nearly 40 years, Campbell has helped shape and showcase the importance of volunteerism to the success of Ironman. Serving as volunteer director for the last 33 years, Campbell first began as an aid-station volunteer before taking on roles with the swim course, construction, and action management. Campbell joins fellow volunteer Bob Laird in the Ironman Hall of Fame. If it were not for their passion, belief in a dream and their willingness to give of themselves for others, Ironman and the Ironman World Championship likely would not be where they are today.

Erin BakerErin Baker   Scott MolinaScott Molina
(Photos: Ironman; click to enlarge)

Founded in 1993, the Ironman Hall of Fame was created to honour individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the growth of the world’s most famous endurance race series. Baker, Molina, Baggs and Campbell join a prestigious list of remarkable individuals honoured for what they have given to the sport of triathlon and Ironman both inside and outside of competition.

Ironman Hall of Fame:

Year   Inductee(s)
1993 Dave Scott
1994 Julie Moss
1995 Scott Tinley
1996 Paula Newby-Fraser
1997 Mark Allen
1998 John and Judy Collins
1999 Valerie Silk
2000 Tom Warren
2001 Dr. Bob Laird
2002 Bob Babbitt
2003 John MacLean / Gordon Haller / Lyn Lemaire
2004 Greg Welch
2005 Jim Maclaren
2008 Team Hoyt - Rick and Dick Hoyt
2011 Mike Reilly
2012 Graham Fraser
2013 Peter Henning
2014 Georg Hochegger / Helge Lorenz / Stefan Petschnig
2015 Lori Bowden / Heather Fuhr
2016 Lew Friedland / Peter Reid
2017 Chrissie Wellington
2018 Ken Baggs / Erin Baker / Rocky Campbell / Scott Molina